Mo Farah Wins 2018 Bank of America Chicago Marathon

Mo Farah, Somalia-born, British citizen won the 2018 Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

Farah, 35-year-old, finished in 2:05:11 which is a European best by 37sec for the over 26.2 miles. The four-time Olympic medalist out-sprinted Ethiopia’s Mosinet Geremew in the closing yards to win the marathon. Galen Rupp, a two-time Olympic medalist and last year’s Chicago Marathon winner, was unable to defend his title. Rupp won the 2017 Chicago Marathon in 2:09:20 by beating out Kenya’s Abel Kirui and Bernard Kipyego.

On the women’s side, Kenyan Brigid Kosgei separated from the lead pack at 20 miles to finished in 2:18:35, the third-fastest time in Chicago history. Kosgei, 24-year-old, improved her second-place finish a year ago.

Daniel Romanchuk of the U.S.A, won the men’s wheelchair race in 1:31:34 and Manuela Schär of Switzerland won the women’s wheelchair in 1:41:38.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email